How to delete Snapchat?

Snapchat is one of the most widely-used multimedia messaging apps among young adults. It allows you to share messages, photos, and videos to your friends or family which will then disappear shortly after they open them. If you want to leave it behind, you are in the right place. This article shows you how to delete your Snapchat account.

Before you delete your Snapchat account

What happens when you delete a Snapchat account?

After you complete all steps to delete your account, it will be deactivated for 30 days. During that time, your friends won't be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat. And you won't be able to sign in with your email address or change your password. After 30 days, it will be gone forever. This means that all of your account data including friends, story, profile data, location, and search history will be permanently deleted.

It's recommended to download your data before you leave Snapchat behind.

Here's how:

On a computer

Step 1: Go to https://accounts.snapchat.com/ and log into your account by typing your username and password then hitting Log In.

Step 2: Click MY DATA.

Download Snapchat data

Step 3: Scroll down and click SUBMIT REQUEST.

Step 4: Snapchat will send you a link to download your data once it's ready via your email address.

You have to wait for it to reach your inbox before deleting your Snapchat account.

On the mobile app

Step 1: Open the Snapchat app on your device.

Step 2: Tap your profile icon in the upper-left corner.

Step 3: Tap the Gear icon at the top right.

Snapchat data download

Step 4: Scroll to the bottom and tap My Data.

Step 5: You will need to log into your account again.

Enter your username or email address and your password then tap Log In.

Step 6: Solve the captcha then tap VERIFY.

Step 7: Scroll to the bottom and tap SUBMIT REQUEST.

How to download Snapchat data

An email with a link to download your data will be sent to your email address once it's ready. Just wait for it before deleting your account.

How to delete Snapchat?

Note: You can only delete your account from a web browser. There is no option to do so from the actual app.

1. Visit the Accounts Portal.

2. Type the email address or username and password of the account you want to delete then click Log In.

3. Type your password again and click CONTINUE.

How to delete Snapchat account

You are done! As long as you don't log back into your account for the next 30 days, your Snapchat account will be permanently deleted.

How to reactivate a Snapchat account?

During the deactivating period, if you want to reactivate your account, just log back in like you normally do.

How to deactivate a Snapchat account?

The only way to deactivate your account is to permanently delete it. Snapchat will keep your Snapchat data safe for 30 days after you complete the process of deleting.

How to delete Snapchat? 5 votes. 4.58 / 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Thank you for commenting. Please leave constructive comments, respect other people’s opinions, and stay on topic.