How to delete a Facebook account permanently
This article shows you how to permanently delete your Facebook account. Please keep in mind that once you perform this process, you won't be able to retrieve or reactivate it. As deleting your account is a serious decision, make sure it's something you really want to do. Before you delete your account, you may want to download your Facebook data to keep your memories.
How to delete a Facebook account permanently?
Step 1: Go to Facebook and log into your account.
Step 2: Go to Facebook's deletion page.
Step 3: Click Delete Account.
Step 4: Enter your password again into the Password field and click Continue.
Step 5: Click Delete Account to confirm your action.
Within 14 days, if you do not log into your account again, it will be deleted permanently. During this time, you can log back into your account to cancel the deletion. It may take longer to delete all your activities on Facebook such as your status updates, your photos, etc. However, your friends may still see messages you sent after you delete your Facebook account.
What's the difference between deactivating and deleting your Facebook account?
If you deactivate your account:
You can reactivate it whenever you want and your account information will be saved in case you reactivate it. To reactivate your account, simply log into Facebook with your old account information.
People can't see or search for your profile on Facebook.
If you delete your account:
The deletion will be delayed for a few days after your request. After that period, you can't regain your access.
Your data stored in backup systems is inaccessible on Facebook during the data deletion period.
If you just want to take a break, you can deactivate your account. Here's how:
How to deactivate your Facebook account?
Step 1: Log into your Facebook account.
Step 2: Click the down arrow icon in the upper-right corner and select Settings.
Step 3: Click Manage Account.
Step 4: Select Deactivate your account.
Step 5: Select a reason for leaving and click Deactivate.
You're done! There is no limit on how long a Facebook user can keep his/her account deactivated. You can choose to come back whenever you want by logging into Facebook with your email address/phone number and password.