Facebook - www.facebook.com

Facebook

Facebook is one of the most popular social networking services in the world. It was launched on February 4, 2004, by Mark Zuckerberg, along with his fellow Harvard College students and roommates, Eduardo Severin, Andrew McCollum, Dustin Moskovitz, and Chris Hughes. It was originally created only for Harvard students then expanded to other educational institutions and eventually to those over 13 years old. By June 2016, Facebook has over 1.7 billion monthly active users, with more than 100 languages supported.

Facebook Sign Up

Creating a new Facebook account is relatively simple.

Step 1: Go to https://www.facebook.com/.

Step 2: Enter your information including:

  1. Your first and surname 
  2. Your mobile number or email address 
  3. Your password
  4. Your birthday
  5. Your gender 

How to sign up for a Facebook account free

Step 3: Click Sign Up.

Step 4: Facebook will send a verification code to the email address or mobile number you provided.

Step 5:

To confirm your email address, click Connect to "Your email service" and log into your account. Facebook will automatically verify your account after you logged in. Then, click OK.

To confirm your phone number, check your mobile for a verification code sent by Facebook via SMS. Then, enter the code and click Continue.

How to create a Facebook account using mobile number

You can read this article for a more specific guide to register a Facebook account - Facebook Sign Up.

Facebook Sign In

Step 1: Go to https://www.facebook.com/.

Step 2: Enter your email address or phone number.

Step 3: Enter your password.

Step 4: Click Log In.

Facebook Login on Desktop

You can read this article to know how to log into Facebook on Android and iOS device: Facebook Login.

Facebook Features

1. News Feed

Originally, when logged into Facebook, account users will be presented with a customizable version of their own profile. This was changed on September 6, 2006, with the introduction of a new homepage feature called News Feed. This is the homepage, where users will spend most of their time with Facebook. On the homepage, you can post your status updates, share a photo or video, see posts from your friends, groups, and pages. Posts can be shown to everyone or limited to only friends or a list of specific people. News Feed also highlights other information including profile changes, upcoming events, birthdays, and other updates. Users can customize their News Feed to show Most Recent updates or Top Stories or popular posts. Your News Feed can be considered a collection of all the updates, photos, and videos from the friends, family, and news sources that you have connected to on Facebook.

The right sidebar displays ticker and chat bar. Ticker, the highlighted one at the top right, can be viewed as a mini News Feed, where latest activities from your friends will be shown and updated constantly in real time. Below the ticker is the chat bar, where all online friends are displayed, users can initiate private conversations known as messages by clicking on their names.

2. Friends

To add a friend, you will have to send a friend request. Two people are considered friends on Facebook when the receiving counterpart accepts the friend request. Friends can view, like, and comment on each other's updates, and post on each other's timeline. Besides, users can choose to decline the requests or hide them using the Not Now option. Once the user choose to delete a friend request, it will be removed even though the sender resends it. The Not Now feature will not delete the request, but hide it, allowing the receiver to review the request at a later time. Facebook accounts could also remove some of their friends, known as "unfriending", or block another user. You will no longer see updates and other posts of those you already unfriended or blocked and vice versa. The person you unfriend or block will not be notified about the situation.

3. Timeline

Timeline replaced the Wall as a profile layout since December 15, 2011. The timeline is a virtual space where your profile, posts, and updates are organized and shown. The content is categorized according to the period time of time they were uploaded or created. Users can add events that may occur before they join Facebook, as well as hide or delete posts. Your profile information will be shown below the profile picture including all the information about you and what you have provided Facebook with such as occupation, attended schools, home address, phone number, etc. Of course, you have full control over what you want to provide and which is visible to your profile visitors.

4. Like

The like symbol likemay be the most recognizable symbol of Facebook besides its own logo. The act of "liking" is a way to give positive feedback and connect to things you care about. Users can "like" almost every content from status updates, comments, photos, life events, etc. The number of likes that a post received is one of the factors that Facebook uses to determine what appears in News Feed's Top Stories. The number of likes on a page also determines how popular that page is to Facebook users.

In January 2016, Facebook globally implemented its new emotional "Reaction" buttons, adding options for users to use beside likes such as"Love", "Haha", "Wow", "Sad", and "Angry".

5. Messages

Since its early days, Facebook has allowed its users to send messages to each other. Users can send a message to many of their friends simultaneously or within groups. By clicking people's name on the chat bar, a chat box will appear at the bottom next to the sidebar, each box is a conversation with another user or a group of users. Additionally, users can also attach files, send pictures, and send a variety of emojis and stickers to express how they feel to the receiving party. Facebook Messages can be used separately from Facebook as a combination of instant messages, text messages, and emails.

6. Notifications

The Notifications section of Facebook tells users about all the interactions with others, including liking their post or a comment, commenting on the same post which was already commented on by them, etc. Users may also receive notifications about friend requests and messages separately from normal notifications, which is shown on the Friends and Messages icon. In addition, one can subscribe other account users to receive notifications about any changes in their profiles, posts or updates. A red counter will appear on the notification icon when users receive a notification. If clicked, the notifications icon will display the most recent ones.

Fun fact: The Notifications icon changes depending on the location you log in from. 

7. Groups

A group can be created by individual users, allowing its members to post content such as links, media, events, and comments on these items. Groups are used for collaborations and discussions, events and many other activities. They are widely used by clubs, companies, and organizations to engage with and manage members.

There are 3 types of groups in terms of privacy levels:

  1. Open: the group, its member list, and all of its activities are visible to the public but only members are able to interact.
  2. Closed: only the group and its members are visible to the public. Only members can see posts, updates, and activities.
  3. Secret: everything including the group itself is hidden from the public eyes, users can only join these groups via an invitation from one of its members.
Facebook - www.facebook.com 1 votes. 4.7 / 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Thank you for commenting. Please leave constructive comments, respect other people’s opinions, and stay on topic.